May 2012 eNews

Bigelow Laboratory for Ocean Sciences : A Conversation between a Scientist and a Journalist
May 15, 2012

A Conversation between
a Scientist and a Journalist

May 24 Café Scientifique in Rockland, Maine

Join Laboratory Executive Director Graham Shimmield and author and journalist Colin Woodard at 6 p.m. on Thursday, May 24, 2012 at the Strand Theater, 345 Main Street in Rockland, Maine for Changing Seas, Human Challenges—an open discussion about the vital connection between the ocean and our lives, the role of science in future ocean policy, and the consequences of environmental change, both in the Gulf of Maine and throughout the global ocean. The conversation will focus on current ocean issues including extraction pressures on the ocean for food, energy, and new products; ocean acidification as a result of climate change; and the effects of melting ice caps and harmful algal blooms such as red tides. The talk will be followed by a reception at the theater from 7 to 7:30 p.m., sponsored by Know Technology, LLC, with complimentary hors d’oeuvres and a cash bar. Café Scientifique events are free and open to the public, but please let us know if you are planning to attend. RSVP to 207.553.9803 or by email to

In the Homestretch
The Annual Fund

The Bigelow Center for Blue Biotechnology. © 2011 Christopher Barnes.

With the help of a $75,000 challenge gift from a Bigelow board member, the Laboratory’s Annual Fund drive is in its final lap. Our goal is to raise over $300,000 by June 30, 2012, and, with more than 240 gifts, we are almost there! But another $10,000 in donations is needed to match the challenge before the deadline. The Annual Fund is the Laboratory’s primary source of unrestricted funds and is vital for our research, education, and technology transfer programs, especially during this period of growth and transformation. All donors making new or increased gifts will be invited to be among the first visitors to the new campus’s Center for Ocean Biochemistry and Climate Change (opening in June) and the Bigelow Center for Blue Biotechnology, which was completed last December. Please donate now online, or by mail to:

Bigelow Laboratory
P.O. Box 380
East Boothbay, ME 04544

Thank you to all the Annual Fund challenge participants who are generously helping to build the future of ocean science, both here in Maine and worldwide.

Bigelow Laboratory
Keller BLOOM Class of 2012

A recent BLOOM student research cruise. Photo by Greg Bernard.

We are delighted to announce that the following Maine high school juniors have been selected for the 23rd annual Keller BLOOM Program.

• Briar Bragdon, Hall-Dale High School
• Sarah Caron, Boothbay Region High School
• Taylor Church, Catherine McAuley High School
• Sadia Crosby, Morse High School
• Sarah Finnemore, Skowhegan Area High School
• Michael Frazier, Lewiston High School
• Brandon Howlett, Presque Ilse High School
• Chelsea Hunter, Camden Hills Regional High School
• Kaleija Inniss, Brunswick High School
• Leah Jones, Bangor High School
• Jacob Leeman, Oxford Hills Comprehensive High School
• Abigail Onos, South Portland High School
• Kalista Rattray, Houlton Junior/Senior High School
• Raina Rauch, Erskine Academy
• Allison Scully, Waterville Senior High School
• Mylie Warlick, Kennebunk High School

The students will work with Bigelow scientists from May 20 through May 24, 2012, exploring the biological, chemical, and geological characteristics of the local marine environment through field and laboratory work. Participants learn what a career as a scientist involves and are immersed in a research environment, including field sampling, data collection, synthesis, and analysis, culminating with a half-day public presentation about their research. More information about the program is available on the Keller BLOOM webpage.

Bigelow Laboratory for Ocean Sciences …exploring the world’s ocean, from microbes to global ecosystems


Attention High School Science Teachers!
Registration Open for Exploring Oceanography Summer Workshop—July 24 through July 27, 2012

Boothbay Regional High School science teacher and 2011 workshop participant Lauren Harkins. Photo by Rebecca Fowler.

This summer, the Laboratory is once again offering a professional development workshop for Maine high school science teachers interested in collaborating with Bigelow scientists to enhance ocean science education in the state. The four-day Exploring Oceanography workshop will run from July 24 to July 27, 2012. Led by Dr. David Fields and Dr. Nicole Poulton, the sessions will provide teachers with hands-on research experience, training, and tools for teaching fundamentals of ocean science in a local and global context. Topics covered include the history of oceanography, the ocean’s biological pump, primary productivity, and climate change. Attendees receive curriculum materials, aquatic field sampling and laboratory equipment, and follow-up academic year support, as well as 3 Continuing Education Units. The cost of the program is $100. More information and registration forms are available online.

Save the Date(s)!

Planning for the 2012 Café Scientifique series of “Summer Science Conversations” is well underway. The regular talks are scheduled for every Tuesday evening at 6 p.m. at the Boothbay Harbor Opera House from July 10 through August 28, 2012. An additional Café Scientifique will be held at the new campus on Thursday, July 19 at 6 p.m. The complete program will be online and in the June issue of enews. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Laboratory Receives 2012 Business Improvement Award from Boothbay Region Chamber of Commerce

We are very proud to announce that on May 4, the Boothbay Region Chamber of Commerce presented the Business Improvement Award of 2012 to Bigelow Laboratory. Over 100 members and friends of the Chamber attended the event, which also featured awards for community service and community improvement. Executive Director Graham Shimmield accepted the Business Improvement award on behalf of the Laboratory.

Did you receive this issue of eNews from a friend? If so, please subscribe to receive your own issue every month.

Become a member of the Bigelow Discovery Team!

Photo by Rebecca Fowler.

Our donors provide essential support for key research, education, and outreach initiatives, and help us forge new partnerships for a sustainable future. Please Donate Now.

Bigelow Laboratory
Board of Trustees
David Coit, Chair
Mary Chatterton
Chip Davison
David Ellis
Robert Healing
Steve Malcom
Richard Morrell, Vice Chair

Helen Norton
Walter Norton
Herb Paris
Randall Phelps
Neil Rolde
Carolyn Slayman
Steve Weems
Colin Woodard
Trustees’ Advisory Board
Thomas Berry
Christopher Flower
Karin Gregory
Lee Grodzins
Tracy Huebner
Russ Jeppesen
David Knight
George Mitchell

Rick Mitterling
Charles Roscoe
Jonathan Schaffer
Monty Scharff
Kevin Strange
Mike Tetreault
Magdalena Tosteson
David Znamierowski

Bigelow Laboratory Privacy Policy  |