Staff Directory

Media inquiries

For our best and fastest response, we suggest you contact or include our director of communications, Steven Profaizer. He will help connect you with the most relevant scientists not currently working in the field.

Senior Research Scientists

Deborah Bronk

President and CEO  
Senior Research Scientist  
ext. 115 | dbronk@bigelow.org

Benjamin Twining

Senior Research Scientist  
Vice President of Research and Education  

Jim McManus

Senior Research Scientist  
Vice President of Strategy and Administration  

Christoph Aeppli

Senior Research Scientist  
ext. 317 | caeppli@bigelow.org

Steve Archer

Senior Research Scientist  
BAS Director  
ext. 314 | sarcher@bigelow.org

Barney Balch

Senior Research Scientist  
ext. 301 | bbalch@bigelow.org

Peter Countway

Senior Research Scientist  

David Emerson

Senior Research Scientist  

José A. Fernández Robledo

Senior Research Scientist  

David Fields

Senior Research Scientist  
ext. 313 | dfields@bigelow.org

Cynthia Heil

Senior Research Scientist  
ext. 304 | cheil@bigelow.org

Michael Lomas

Senior Research Scientist  
NCMA Director  
ext. 311 | mlomas@bigelow.org

Joaquín Martínez Martínez

Senior Research Scientist  

Paty Matrai

Senior Research Scientist  
ext. 305 | pmatrai@bigelow.org

Beth Orcutt

Senior Research Scientist  
ext. 312 | borcutt@bigelow.org

Nicole Poulton

Research Scientist  
FAC Director  

Nichole Price

Senior Research Scientist  
Seafood Solutions CVR Director  
ext. 306 | nprice@bigelow.org

Doug Rasher

Senior Research Scientist  
Marine Community Ecologist  
ext. 318 | drasher@bigelow.org

Nick Record

Senior Research Scientist  
ext. 316 | nrecord@bigelow.org

Ramunas Stepanauskas

Senior Research Scientist  
SCGC Director  

LeAnn Whitney

Research Scientist  

Postdoctoral Scientists

Steven Baer

Postdoctoral Scientist  
ext. 401 | sbaer@bigelow.org

Jacob P. Beam

Postdoctoral Scientist  
ext. 406 | jbeam@bigelow.org

Eric Becraft

Postdoctoral Scientist  

Oliver Bezuidt

Postdoctoral Scientist  

Ananda Bhattacharjee

Postdoctoral Scientist  

Silvia Cretoiu

Postdoctoral Scientist  

Jelena Godrijan

Postdoctoral Scientist  

Jackie Goordial

CDEBI Postdoctoral Fellow  

Elif Koeksoy

Postdoctoral Scientist  

Rose Jones

Postdoctoral Scientist  
ext. 404 | rjones@bigelow.org

Jonathan Lefcheck

Postdoctoral Scientist  

Elizabeth Mann

Postdoctoral Scientist  
ext. 417 | emann@bigelow.org

Nicolas Mayot

Postdoctoral Scientist  
ext. 421 | nmayot@bigelow.org

Catherine Mitchell

Postdoctoral Scientist  

Ben Neal

Postdoctoral Scientist  
ext. 413 | bneal@bigelow.org

Daniel C. Ohnemus

Postdoctoral Scientist  

Maria Pachiadaki

Postdoctoral Scientist  

Thew Suskiewicz

Postdoctoral Scientist  

Raghavendra Yadavalli

Postdoctoral Scientist  

Science Staff

Erin Beirne

Research Technician  
ext. 510 | ebeirne@bigelow.org

Joan Blanchette

Assistant Curator  

Bruce Bowler

Research Associate  
ext. 503 | bbowler@bigelow.org

Joe Brown

Bioinformatician  

Julia Brown

Bioinformatician  
ext. 521 | julia@bigelow.org

Craig Burnell

Research Technician  

Tim D'Angelo

Research Associate  

David Drapeau

Research Associate  

Colin Fischer

Research Technician  

Isabelle Holt

Assistant Curator  
ext. 207 | iholt@bigelow.org

Brittney Honisch

Research Associate  

Mark Hurd

Assistant Curator  
ext. 204 | mhurd@bigelow.org

Debra Lomas

Research Technician  
ext. 518 | dlomas@bigelow.org

Laura Lubelczyk

Research Associate  

Corianna Mascena

Research Technician  

Nick Marquis

Research Technician  

Kevin Posman

Research Associate  
ext. 507 | kposman@bigelow.org

Mike Preston

Research Associate  

Carlton Rauschenberg

Research Associate  
ext. 514 | carlton@bigelow.org

Sara Rauschenberg

Research Associate  
Safety Officer  

Brian Thompson

Research Associate  

Ben Tupper

Research Associate  
ext. 524 | btupper@bigelow.org

Administration

Harley Bartles

Advancement Officer  

Roxana Branch

Administrative Assistant  
ext. 104 | rbranch@bigelow.org

Laurie Curtis

Facilities  

Jennifer Cutshall

Chief Advancement Officer  

Kevin Guay

Director of IT  
ext. 113 | kguay@bigelow.org

Rachel Kaplan

Science Communications Specialist  
ext. 123 | rkaplan@bigelow.org

Kim Knowlton

Facilities  

John McKown

Grants Manager  
ext. 110 | jmckown@bigelow.org

Betsey Nessmith

Facilities  

Tim Pinkham

Laboratory Manager  

Judy Plouffe

Director of Finance  

Steven Profaizer

Director of Communications  

Rimar Reed

Sales Administrator  
ext. 202 | rreed@bigelow.org

Victoria Reinecke

Human Resources Officer  

Kevin Smith

Desktop Support Technician  
ext. 102 | ksmith@bigelow.org

Matthew Wade

Facilities Technician  
ext. 108 | mwade@bigelow.org

Dana Wilson

Donor Relations & Campaign Manager  
ext. 112 | dwilson@bigelow.org

Evan Winokurzew

Accountant  

Mary Wood

Accounts Payable / Purchasing  
ext. 116 | mwood@bigelow.org

Valerie Young

Corporate Secretary  
Executive Assistant  
Education Coordinator  
ext. 107 | vyoung@bigelow.org

Scientists Emeriti

Robert Andersen

Senior Research Scientist  
CCMP Director  

Peter Larsen

Senior Research Scientist  
ext. 351 | plarsen@bigelow.org

Clarice Yentsch

Bigelow Laboratory Co-founder  
Senior Research Scientist  

Adjunct Scientists

Stephanie Carr

Hartwick College  

Chuanmin Hu

University of South Florida  

Tom Huntington

USGS, Augusta, ME  

Lewis S. Incze

Gulf of Maine Research Institute  

Brian LaPointe

Harbor Branch  

Marlon Lewis

Dalhousie University  

Linas Mazutis

Vilnius University, Lithuania  

Deedar Nabi

National University of Sciences and Technology  

Katherine Richardson

University of Copenhagen  

Karen Stamieszkin

Virginia Institute of Marine Science  

Gerrit van den Engh

 

Ken Voss

University of Miami  

Meredith White

Mook Sea Farm  

Willie Wilson

Plymouth Marine Laboratory, UK  

Dan Witt

Repligen Corporation  

Tanja Woyke

DOE Joint Genome Institute