Staff Directory

Media inquiries

For our best and fastest response, we suggest you contact or include our Chief Communications Officer, Steven Profaizer. He will help connect you with the most relevant scientists not currently working in the field.

Executive Team

Deborah Bronk

President and CEO
Senior Research Scientist
ext. 115 | dbronk@bigelow.org

Beth Orcutt

Vice President for Research
Senior Research Scientist
ext. 312 | borcutt@bigelow.org

Benjamin Twining

Henry L. and Grace Doherty Vice President for Education
Senior Research Scientist

Jennifer Cutshall

Vice President for Strategic Alliances and Advancement

Steven Profaizer

Chief Communications Officer

Valerie Young

Chief of Staff
ext. 107 | vyoung@bigelow.org

Senior Research Scientists

Christoph Aeppli

Senior Research Scientist
ext. 317 | caeppli@bigelow.org

Steve Archer

Senior Research Scientist
Bigelow Analytical Services Director
ext. 314 | sarcher@bigelow.org

John Burns

Senior Research Scientist
ext. 304 | jburns@bigelow.org

Peter Countway

Senior Research Scientist

David Emerson

Senior Research Scientist

José A. Fernández Robledo

Senior Research Scientist

David Fields

Senior Research Scientist
ext. 313 | dfields@bigelow.org

Maya Groner

Senior Research Scientist
ext. 319 | mgroner@bigelow.org

Manoj Kamalanathan

Senior Research Scientist

Michael Lomas

Senior Research Scientist
NCMA and CAI Director
ext. 311 | mlomas@bigelow.org

Joaquín Martínez Martínez

Senior Research Scientist

Catherine Mitchell

Senior Research Scientist

Nicole Poulton

Senior Research Scientist
Center for Aquatic Cytometry Director

Nichole Price

Senior Research Scientist
Center for Seafood Solutions Director
ext. 306 | nprice@bigelow.org

Doug Rasher

Senior Research Scientist
ext. 318 | drasher@bigelow.org

Nick Record

Senior Research Scientist
Tandy Center for Ocean Forecasting Director
ext. 316 | nrecord@bigelow.org

Rachel Sipler

Senior Research Scientist
Center for Water Health and Humans Director
ext. 310 | rsipler@bigelow.org

Ramunas Stepanauskas

Senior Research Scientist
Single Cell Genomics Center Director

Research Scientists

Julia Brown

Research Scientist
ext. 521 | julia@bigelow.org

Melody Lindsay

Research Scientist
DEI Liaison

Karen Stamieszkin

Research Scientist

LeAnn Whitney

Research Scientist

Postdoctoral Scientists

Benedikt Blossom

Postdoctoral Scientist

Hannah Blossom

Postdoctoral Scientist

Anne Booker

Postdoctoral Scientist
ext. 410 | abooker@bigelow.org

Daniel Clements

Postdoctoral Scientist

Sarah Douglas

Postdoctoral Scientist

Dave Ernst

Postdoctoral Scientist
ext. 406 | dernst@bigelow.org

Athanasios Foukis

Postdoctoral Scientist
ext. 413 | afoukis@bigelow.org

Nicole Hellessey

Postdoctoral Scientist

Keir Macartney

Postdoctoral Scientist

Isaac Miller

Postdoctoral Scientist
ext. 415 | imiller@bigelow.org

Melissa Rocker

Postdoctoral Scientist
ext. 424 | mrocker@bigelow.org

Yasmina Shah Esmaeili

Postdoctoral Scientist

Rebekah Shunmugapandi

Postdoctoral Scientist

Robin Sleith

Postdoctoral Scientist
ext. 417 | rsleith@bigelow.org

Laura Sofen

Postdoctoral Scientist
ext. 416 | lsofen@bigelow.org

Jonathan Syme

Postdoctoral Scientist
ext. 418 | jsyme@bigelow.org

Alaina Weinheimer

Postdoctoral Fellow

Bin Wu

Postdoctoral Scientist
ext. 425 | bwu@bigelow.org

Reyn Yoshioka

Postdoctoral Scientist

Visiting PhD Students

Shane Farrell

PhD Student

Sydney Greenlee

PhD Student

Kyle Oliveira

PhD Student

Samuel Tan

PhD Student

Dara Yiu

PhD Student

Science Staff

Sean Boyd

Senior Research Associate
ext. 208 | sboyd@bigelow.org

Craig Burnell

Research Associate

Brigid Carr

Research Associate
ext. 532 | bcarr@bigelow.org

Peter Craig

Research Technician
ext. 502 | pcraig@bigelow.org

Tim D'Angelo

Senior Research Associate

David Drapeau

Senior Research Associate

Kerry Dykens

Assistant Curator
ext. 204 | kdykens@bigelow.org

Johnathan Evanilla

Research Associate

Gregory Gavelis

Bioinformatician

Hailey Greenleaf

Research Technician

Kristin Heidenreich

Associate Curator

Brittney Honisch

Senior Research Associate

Mark Hurd

Associate Curator
ext. 205 | mhurd@bigelow.org

Gabriella Iacono

Research Associate
ext. 528 | giacono@bigelow.org

Kirsten Johnston

Research Technician

Debra Lomas

Senior Research Associate
ext. 518 | dlomas@bigelow.org

Laura Lubelczyk

Research Associate

Corianna Mascena-Munton

Research Associate

Jarret Mayo

Research Technician
ext. 509 | jmayo@bigelow.org

Farley Miller

Research Associate
ext. 501 | fmiller@bigelow.org

Maura Niemisto

Research Associate

Vishaan Nursey

Research Associate
ext. 531 | vnursey@bigelow.org

Caitlyn Olson

Research Technician
ext. 516 | colson@bigelow.org

Sunny Pinkham

Research Associate

Kevin Posman

Senior Research Associate
ext. 507 | kposman@bigelow.org

Brynn Presler-Marshall

Research Technician

Mike Preston

Senior Research Associate

Charlotte Quigley

Assistant Director Center for Seafood Solutions

Rimar Reed

Office Manager National Center for Marine Algae and Microbiota
ext. 202 | rreed@bigelow.org

Sara Savage

Research Technician
ext. 210 | ssavage@bigelow.org

Robert Schmedicke

Managing Director of Technology Development

Elena Shippey

Project Administrator Coast-Cow-Consumer & Research Technician

Rachele Spadafore

Research Technician

Hannah Sterling

Research Technician

Rosalynn Sylvan

Managing Director COBRA

Brian Thompson

Senior Research Associate

Ben Tupper

Senior Research Associate
ext. 524 | btupper@bigelow.org

Jay Wheeler

Senior Research Associate

Administration

Joe Ambrosino

Desktop Support Specialist

Eli Barter

Facilities Assistant

Leah Campbell

Science Communications Manager

Kevin Guay

Director of IT

Evan Henerberry

Education Coordinator

Jessica Hoffmann

Advancement Officer

Abby Jones

Administrative Assistant
ext. 100 | ajones@bigelow.org

Aislyn Keyes

Marine Educator
ext. 111 | akeyes@bigelow.org

Kim Knowlton

Events Steward

Margaret McDiarmid

Director of Human Resources

Kimberly Nutt

Event Coordinator

Laurie Rollins

Steward

Chris Salatino

Director of Facilities

Collin Sheehan

Marketing Communications Manager

Adam Smart

Environmental Health and Safety Officer
ext. 116 | asmart@bigelow.org

Michael Vilarello

Philanthropy Officer

Dana Wilson

Advancement Grants and Operations Manager
ext. 112 | dwilson@bigelow.org

Scientists Emeriti

Robert Andersen

SRS Emeritus
CCMP Director

Barney Balch

SRS Emeritus
ext. 301 | bbalch@bigelow.org

Peter Larsen

SRS Emeritus

Paty Matrai

SRS Emerita
ext. 305 | pmatrai@bigelow.org

Clarice Yentsch

Bigelow Laboratory Co-founder
SRS Emerita

Adjunct Scientists

Steven Baer

Maine Maritime Academy  

Barney Balch

 

Mattias Cape

University of Washington  

Stephanie Carr

Hartwick College  

Rosemary Dorrington

Rhodes University  

Jelena Godrijan

Ruđer Bošković Institute  

Jacqueline Goordial

University of Guelph  

Julie Huber

Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution  

Priscila Lange

National Council for Scientific Development, Brazil  

Paty Matrai

 

Linas Mazutis

Vilnius University  

Alexander B. Michaud

Ohio State University  

Jim McManus

National Science Foundation  

Daniel Pendleton

New England Aquarium, University of Maine  

Aurora M. Ricart

Institute of Marine Sciences of the Spanish National Research Council  

Katherine Richardson

University of Copenhagen  

Robert Spencer

Florida State University  

Gerrit van den Engh

 

Ken Voss

University of Miami  

Meredith White

Maine Department of Marine Resources  

Tanja Woyke

DOE Joint Genome Institute