Staff Directory

Media inquiries

For our best and fastest response, we suggest you contact or include our Chief Communications Officer, Steven Profaizer. He will help connect you with the most relevant scientists not currently working in the field.

Senior Research Scientists

Deborah Bronk

President and CEO  
Senior Research Scientist  
ext. 115 | dbronk@bigelow.org

Benjamin Twining

Senior Research Scientist  
Henry L. and Grace Doherty Vice President for Education  

Jim McManus

Senior Research Scientist  
Vice President for Research and Administration  

Christoph Aeppli

Senior Research Scientist  
ext. 317 | caeppli@bigelow.org

Steve Archer

Senior Research Scientist  
BAS Director  
ext. 314 | sarcher@bigelow.org

Barney Balch

Senior Research Scientist  
ext. 301 | bbalch@bigelow.org

John Burns

Senior Research Scientist  
ext. 304 | jburns@bigelow.org

Peter Countway

Senior Research Scientist  

David Emerson

Senior Research Scientist  

José A. Fernández Robledo

Senior Research Scientist  

David Fields

Senior Research Scientist  
ext. 313 | dfields@bigelow.org

Michael Lomas

Senior Research Scientist  
NCMA Director  
ext. 311 | mlomas@bigelow.org

Joaquín Martínez Martínez

Senior Research Scientist  

Paty Matrai

Senior Research Scientist  
ext. 305 | pmatrai@bigelow.org

Catherine Mitchell

Research Scientist  

Beth Orcutt

Senior Research Scientist  
ext. 312 | borcutt@bigelow.org

Nicole Poulton

Research Scientist  
FAC Director  

Nichole Price

Senior Research Scientist  
Seafood Solutions CVR Director  
ext. 306 | nprice@bigelow.org

Doug Rasher

Senior Research Scientist  
Marine Community Ecologist  
ext. 318 | drasher@bigelow.org

Nick Record

Senior Research Scientist  
ext. 316 | nrecord@bigelow.org

Ramunas Stepanauskas

Senior Research Scientist  
SCGC Director  

LeAnn Whitney

Research Scientist  

Postdoctoral Scientists

Anne Booker

Postdoctoral Scientist  
ext. 410 | abooker@bigelow.org

Brian DiMento

Postdoctoral Scientist  

Athanasios Foukis

Postdoctoral Scientist  
ext. 413 | afoukis@bigelow.org

Baptiste Genot

Postdoctoral Scientist  
ext. 412 | bgenot@bigelow.org

Melody Lindsay

Postdoctoral Scientist  

Julia McGonigle

Postdoctoral Fellow  

Alex Michaud

Postdoctoral Scientist  

Jacob Munson-McGee

Postdoctoral Scientist  

Aurora Martinez Ricart

Postdoctoral Scientist  

Jin-Ho Yun

Postdoctoral Scientist  
ext. 414 | jyun@bigelow.org

PhD Students

Alex Ascher

PhD Student  

Shane Farrell

PhD Student  

Rene Francolini

PhD Student  

Sydney Greenlee

PhD Student  

Kyle Oliveira

PhD Student  

Dara Yiu

PhD Student  
ext. 508 | dyiu@bigelow.org

Science Staff

Erin Beirne

Research Associate  
ext. 510 | ebeirne@bigelow.org

Joan Blanchette

Associate Curator  

Bruce Bowler

Research Associate  
Programmer  
ext. 503 | bbowler@bigelow.org

Julia Brown

Bioinformatics Scientist  
ext. 521 | julia@bigelow.org

Craig Burnell

Research Technician  

Carmen Cartisano

Research Technician  

Tim D'Angelo

Research Associate  

David Drapeau

Research Associate  

Johnathan Evanilla

Research Technician  

Evan Fox

Research Technician  
ext. 201 | efox@bigelow.org

Kristin Heidenreich

Assistant Curator  

Brittney Honisch

Research Associate  

Mark Hurd

Associate Curator  
ext. 205 | mhurd@bigelow.org

Gabriella Iacono

Research Technician  

Debra Lomas

Research Associate  
ext. 518 | dlomas@bigelow.org

Laura Lubelczyk

Research Associate  

Corianna Mascena

Research Associate  

Maura Niemisto

Research Associate  

Sunny Pinkham

Research Technician  

Kevin Posman

Research Associate  
ext. 507 | kposman@bigelow.org

Mike Preston

Senior Research Associate  

Sara Rauschenberg

Senior Research Associate  
Safety Officer  

Camille Ross

Research Technician  

Brian Thompson

Senior Research Associate  

Ben Tupper

Senior Research Associate  
ext. 524 | btupper@bigelow.org

Jay Wheeler

Senior Research Associate  
Safety Officer  

Administration

Cindy Bailey

Senior Accountant  
ext. 121 | cbailey@bigelow.org

Roxana Branch

Receptionist  
Education Coordinator  
ext. 104 | rbranch@bigelow.org

Chris Cash

Advancement Officer  
ext. 106 | ccash@bigelow.org

Laurie Curtis

Facilities  

Jennifer Cutshall

Vice President for Advancement  

Kevin Guay

Director of IT  
ext. 113 | kguay@bigelow.org

David Harris

Desktop Support Specialist  
ext. 120 | dharris@bigelow.org

Kim Knowlton

Events Steward  

Margaret McDiarmid

Director of HR  

John McKown

Grants Manager  
ext. 110 | jmckown@bigelow.org

Betsey Nessmith

Facilities  

Tim Pinkham

Laboratory Manager  

Steven Profaizer

Chief Communications Officer  

Charlotte Quigley

Project Coordinator  

Rimar Reed

NCMA Office Manager  
ext. 202 | rreed@bigelow.org

Chris Vooght

Accountant  
ext. 114 | cvooght@bigelow.org

Matthew Wade

Assistant Laboratory Manager  
ext. 108 | mwade@bigelow.org

David Whitt

Chief Financial Officer  
ext. 101 | dwhitt@bigelow.org

Dana Wilson

Advancement Manager  
ext. 112 | dwilson@bigelow.org

Mary Wood

Accounts Payable / Purchasing  
ext. 116 | mwood@bigelow.org

Valerie Young

Chief of Staff  
ext. 107 | vyoung@bigelow.org

Scientists Emeriti

Robert Andersen

Senior Research Scientist  
CCMP Director  

Peter Larsen

Senior Research Scientist  
ext. 351 | plarsen@bigelow.org

Clarice Yentsch

Bigelow Laboratory Co-founder  
Senior Research Scientist  

Adjunct Scientists

Steven Baer

Maine Maritime Academy  

Mattias Cape

University of Washington  

Stephanie Carr

Hartwick College  

Jacqueline Goordial

University of Guelph  

Chuanmin Hu

University of South Florida  

Tom Huntington

USGS, Augusta, ME  

Brian LaPointe

Harbor Branch  

Marlon Lewis

Dalhousie University  

Linas Mazutis

Vilnius University, Lithuania  

Deedar Nabi

National University of Sciences and Technology  

Katherine Richardson

University of Copenhagen  

Karen Stamieszkin

Virginia Institute of Marine Science  

Kevin Strange

Novo Biosciences, Inc.  

Gerrit van den Engh

 

Ken Voss

University of Miami  

Meredith White

Mook Sea Farm  

Willie Wilson

Plymouth Marine Laboratory, UK  

Tanja Woyke

DOE Joint Genome Institute