Deidre Gibson, PhD

About Deidre Gibson

Dr. Deidre Gibson is the University Endowed Professor and Chair of the Department of Marine and Environmental Science at Hampton University. She earned her B.S. in Oceanography from the University of Washington, and Ph.D. in Marine Science from the University of Georgia/Skidaway Institute of Oceanography. She is a biological oceanographer with research interests centered on the trophic ecology, reproductive biology, and population dynamics of zooplankton, but more specifically, gelatinous zooplankton, and currently oyster restoration. While at Hampton University, she has served as PI on several NSF and NOAA grants that continue to train the next generation of African American and LatinX marine scientists. Her research utilizes multidisciplinary and comparative approaches that integrate laboratory, field, and specimen-based techniques, using microscopy, molecular, and husbandry tools to provide insights into relationships between form, function, and the environment. She has conducted research projects on topics ranging from the feeding, growth, and reproduction rates of doliolids, salps and copepods, and the use of molecular techniques, probes, and stains as tools for: a) distinguishing between living and non-living bacteria, b) identifying gut contents of doliolids, c) investigating bacterial community structure during doliolid decomposition. She has been collaborating with scientists from Skidaway Institute of Oceanography for over ten years on exciting projects to investigate the impact of gelatinous zooplankton on the South Atlantic Bight continental shelf. Her research group is currently collaborating with the Chesapeake Bay Foundation in an effort to restore the oyster population in the Hampton River. Deidre serves as the Chair of the HU IACUC, Member of the National Sea Grant Advisory Board, Member of the 2022 PEW Foundation Nomination Committee, Member of the Chesapeake Bay Program's Scientific and Technical Advisory Committee, and served as a Member of the National Academy of Science: Committee on Everglades Restoration, and Member of the Chesapeake Bay Stakeholders Advisory Group.