Bigelow Laboratory for Ocean Sciences

Ocean Life, Planet Health

Staff Directory

Bigelow Phone#: 207-315-2567


Senior Research Scientists (SRSs)

Name Extension Email
Aeppli, Christoph 317 caeppli@bigelow.org
Archer, Steve 314 sarcher@bigelow.org
Balch, William "Barney" 301 bbalch@bigelow.org
Countway, Peter 302 pcountway@bigelow.org
Emerson, David 303 demerson@bigelow.org
Fernandez-Robledo, Jose 315 jfernandez-robledo@bigelow.org
Fields, David 313 dfields@bigelow.org
Heil, Cynthia 304 cheil@bigelow.org
Lomas, Michael 311 mlomas@bigelow.org
Martinez Martinez, Joaquin  403 jmartinez@bigelow.org
Matrai, Patricia 305 pmatrai@bigelow.org
Orcutt, Beth 312 borcutt@bigelow.org
Record, Nick 316 nrecord@bigelow.org
Shimmield, Graham 115 gshimmield@bigelow.org
Stepanauskas, Ramunas 308 rstepanauskas@bigelow.org
Twining, Benjamin 309 btwining@bigelow.org
Wilson, William 310 wwilson@bigelow.org

Science Staff

The email for all staff is generally first initial last name @bigelow.org (for example, Henry Bigelow's email address would be hbigelow@bigelow.org).

Name Title Lab Extension
Bellows, Wendy
Research Associate /
Safety Officer
502
Bowler, Bruce Research Associate W. Balch 503
Burnell, Craig Research Technician Bigelow Analytical Services 514
Cucci, Terry Research Associate M. Sieracki 504
Drapeau, David Research Associate W. Balch 506
Fergusson, Liz Research Technician R. Stepanauskas 505
Floge, Sheri Research Assistant W. Wilson 507
Gilbert, Heather Research Technician B. Orcutt 501
Gilg, Ilana Research Associate W. Wilson 508
Haugen, Elin Research Technician M. Sieracki 509
Leavitt, Anna Research Technician D. Emerson 516
Lomas, Debra Research Technician M. Lomas 518
Lubelczyk, Laura Research Technician W. Balch 511
Poulton, Nicole Research Scientist Flow Cytometry 513
Preston, Mike Laboratory Technician D. Emerson/W.Wilson 203
Rauschenberg, Carlton Research Associate P. Matrai 514
Rauschenberg, Sara Research Associate B. Twining 515
Terpis, Kristina Research Technician M. Lomas 518
Thompson, Brian Research Associate R. Stepanauskas 517
Tupper, Ben Research Associate R. Stepanauskas --
Vermont, Alex Research Technician D. Fields 519

Postdoctoral Researchers

Name Lab Extension Email
Field, Erin D. Emerson 401 efield@bigelow.org
Fleming, Emily D. Emerson 402 efleming@bigelow.org
Labonte, Jessica R. Stepanauskas
404 jlabonte@bigelow.org
Lee, Younjoo P. Matrai 410 ylee@bigelow.org
Mumford, Adam D. Emerson 406  amumford@bigelow.org
Nuester, Jochen B. Twining 405 jnuester@bigelow.org
Scott, Jarrod D. Emerson 409 jscott@bigelow.org
Swan, Brandon R. Stepanauskas 407 bswan@bigelow.org
White, Meredith W. Balch 520 mwhite@bigelow.org
Whitney, LeAnn M. Lomas 405 lwhitney@bigelow.org


National Center for Marine Algae and Microbiota (NCMA) Staff

Name Title Extension Email
Brown, Jeffrey Assistant Curator 201 jbrown@bigelow.org
Kristan, Brynne Administrative Assistant 202 bkristan@bigelow.org
Lomas, Michael Director 311 mlomas@bigelow.org
Preston, Mike Laboratory Technician 203 mpreston@bigelow.org
Riggens, Tracey Associate Curator 204 triggens@bigelow.org
Sexton, Julie Curator 206 jsexton@bigelow.org
Yentsch, Sara Sales & Marketing 205 syentsch@bigelow.org

Emeritus Scientists

Name Former Positions
Andersen, Robert CCMP Director / Senior Research Scientist
Guillard, Robert CCMP Founder / Senior Research Scientst
Larsen, Peter Senior Research Scientist
Yentsch, Clarice Bigelow Laboratory Co-founder / Senior Research Scientist

Administrative Staff

Name Title Extension Email
Bloom, Mark
Corporate Alliances /
Technology Transfer
102 mbloom@bigelow.org
Clifford, David Facilities -- dclifford@bigelow.org
Curtis, Laurie Facilities -- --
Cutshall, Jennifer Advancement Director 105 jcutshall@bigelow.org
Dunham, Casey DevOps / SecOps Engineer 156 cdunham@bigelow.org
Fuchs, Aaron Director of Finance and Administration 101 afuchs@bigelow.org
Getrich, Marty Laboratory Manager 108 mgetrich@bigelow.org
Knowlton, Kim Facilities -- kknowlton@bigelow.org
Koch, John Accountant 109 jkoch@bigelow.org
McKown, John Grants Manager 110 jmckown@bigelow.org
Paquin, Nathan Chief Information Officer 117 npaquin@bigelow.org
Pinkham, Tim Facilities Technician  105 tpinkham@bigelow.org
Reed, Kimberly Receptionist 104 kreed@bigelow.org
Reinecke, Victoria
Human Resources Officer
111 vreinecke@bigelow.org
Shephard, Pamela Librarian 114 library@bigelow.org
Shimmield, Graham
Executive Director /
President
115 gshimmield@bigelow.org
Trew Crist, Darlene Communications Director 103 dtcrist@bigelow.org
Wilson, Dana Donor Relations and Campaign Manager 112 dwilson@bigelow.org
Wood, Mary
Accounts Payable /
Purchasing
116 mwood@bigelow.org
Young, Valerie Executive Assistant 107 vyoung@bigelow.org