Bigelow Laboratory for Ocean Sciences

Ocean Life, Planet Health

April 2012 eNews

Bigelow Laboratory for Ocean Sciences : Bigelow Scientist on a Mission to the Mid-Atlantic Ridge
April 30, 2012

Beneath the Ocean Floor
Bigelow Scientist on a Mission to the Mid-Atlantic Ridge

Dr. Beth Orcutt, one of the Laboratory’s newest Senior Research Scientists, is part of a four-week expedition to the mid-Atlantic Ridge on the German vessel Maria S. Merian, with the ROV Jason from Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution. The expedition is visiting sub-sea floor observatories that the research team installed last fall on the western flank of the mid-Atlantic ridge, at a depth of approximately 4,500m below the ocean’s surface. Researchers are investigating the role that microbes play in altering the oceanic crust, one of the largest ecosystems on the planet. Orcutt is contributing to a “Classroom Connection” education program and blog hosted by the Center for Dark Energy Biosphere Investigations (C-DEBI), a National Science Foundation-funded Science and Technology Center on the deep sub-sea floor.

Changing Seas, Human Challenges
A Special Café Scientifique in Rockland’s Strand Theater

Bigelow Laboratory invites you to be part of a special spring Café Scientifique on Thursday, May 24, 2012 at 6 p.m. in the Strand Theater, 345 Main Street, Rockland, Maine. Join Laboratory Executive Director Graham Shimmield and journalist Colin Woodard, author of Ocean’s End and American Nations, for Changing Seas, Human Challenges—an informal discussion about the vital connection between the ocean and our lives. Like all Café Scientifique gatherings, this event is free and open to the public, with beer and wine available for purchase. The Laboratory’s regular summer Café Scientifique series on Tuesday evenings in Boothbay Harbor will begin on July 10. For more information, call (202) 747-3255.

Congresswoman Chellie Pingree Visits the New Ocean Science and Education Campus

Photo by Robert Mitchell.

U. S. Congresswoman Chellie Pingree and several members of her legislative staff visited East Boothbay on Wednesday, April 11 for a tour of the 27,000 square foot, state-of-the-art Bigelow Center for Blue Biotechnology (BCBB), the first building to be completed on the Laboratory’s new Ocean Science and Education Campus. Pingree met with Laboratory Executive Director Graham Shimmield, Bigelow Trustee Steve Malcom, scientists, and Laboratory staff for an overview of the new research facilities on campus and a discussion of the contribution that the Laboratory is making to Maine’s emerging innovation economy.

Bigelow Board Member Honored as Maine Philanthropist of the Year
The Maine Association of Nonprofits recognized Neil Rolde as its 2012 Maine Philanthropist of the Year during its annual Nonprofit Leadership Conference on April 11. Rolde, who is currently a Bigelow Trustee and a former Chair of the Board, was a member of the Maine House of Representatives for 16 years and served on numerous governmental committees, including the Maine Health Care Reform Commission, the Maine Children’s Health Care Task Force, and the Maine Humanities Council. He has also chaired the boards of the SALT Institute and the Maine Public Broadcasting Network, and has been on the boards of many other nonprofit organizations, including the Maine Audubon Society, the Natural Resources Council of Maine, and the National Academy of Sciences in Washington, D.C. He is the author of eleven published books and holds an honorary doctorate of letters from the University of New England. All of us at the Laboratory extend our congratulations to Neil and his family for this well-deserved honor.

Bigelow Laboratory for Ocean Sciences …exploring the world’s ocean, from microbes to global ecosystems


The Annual Fund
A Race to the Finish…

With the help of a $75,000 challenge gift from a Bigelow board member, the Laboratory’s Annual Fund drive is in its final lap. Our goal is to raise over $300,000 by June 30, 2012, and, with more than 240 gifts, we are almost there! But another $10,000 in donations is needed to be matched before the deadline. The Annual Fund is the Laboratory’s primary source of unrestricted funds and is vital for our research, education, and technology transfer programs, especially during this period of growth and transformation. All donors making new and increased gifts will be invited to be among the first visitors to the Center for Ocean Biochemistry and Climate Change (opening in June) and the Bigelow Center for Blue Biotechnology, which opened on our new campus last December. Please donate now online, or by mail to:

Bigelow Laboratory
P.O. Box 380
East Boothbay, ME 04544

Thank you to all the Annual Fund challenge participants who are generously helping to build the future of ocean science, both here in Maine and worldwide.

Recent Scientific Papers
Balch, W. M, Drapeau, D.T., Bowler, B.C., and Huntington, T.G. Step-changes in the physical, chemical and biological characteristics of the Gulf of Maine, as documented by the GNATS time series. Marine Ecology Progress Series Vol. 450:11-35, 2012. Doi: 10.3354/meps09555.

Nuester, J., Vogt, S., Newville, M., Kustka, A.B., and Twining, B.S. The unique biogeochemical signature of the marine diazotroph Trichodesmium. Frontiers in Microbiology. Vol. 3, Article 150. April 2012. Doi: 10.3389/fmicb.2012.00150.

Did you receive this issue of eNews from a friend? If so, please subscribe to receive your own issue every month.

Become a member of the Bigelow Discovery Team!

Photo by Rebecca Fowler.

Our donors provide essential support for key research, education, and outreach initiatives, and help us forge new partnerships for a sustainable future. Please Donate Now.

Bigelow Laboratory
Board of Trustees
David Coit, Chair
Mary Chatterton
Chip Davison
David Ellis
Robert Healing
Steve Malcom
Richard Morrell, Vice Chair

Helen Norton
Walter Norton
Herb Paris
Randall Phelps
Neil Rolde
Carolyn Slayman
Steve Weems
Trustees’ Advisory Board
Thomas Berry
Christopher Flower
Karin Gregory
Lee Grodzins
Tracy Huebner
Russ Jeppesen
David Knight
Rick Mitterling

Charles Roscoe
Monty Scharff
Kevin Strange
Mike Tetreault
Magdalena Tosteson
Colin Woodard
David Znamierowski

Bigelow Laboratory Privacy Policy  |